A Year in Review: Bitcoin vs. Gold What Can Save You?

Published on
December 27th, 2019
Duration
15 minutes


A Year in Review: Bitcoin vs. Gold What Can Save You?

Presentations ·
Featuring

Published on: December 27th, 2019 • Duration: 15 minutes

Do you want certainty or adventure? Security in the tried and tested, or hope in the unknown? As the macroeconomic indicators continue to signal economic turmoil on the horizon, the debate between gold and Bitcoin is more relevant than ever. Will Bitcoin secure its place among investors as an alternative to gold? Listen to experts on both sides of the argument present their cases in this year's Gold vs. Bitcoin recap as we try to determine which asset belongs in our portfolio.

Comments

Transcript

  • MS
    Mark S.
    25 February 2020 @ 14:19
    Regarding Mr Grants comment: Unless you are personally holding gold bars, you'll still need an electrical socket to prove your ownership, and I believe spectrometers still need to be plugged in. Of course, in that Mad Max world perhaps you just have an acid test in your pocket.
  • MO
    Miguel O.
    30 December 2019 @ 00:54
    Clear patterns: Older than 40...Gold. (they trust it, they are willing to play with analog investments, and they dont need the "convenience") Younger than 40...BTC (they trust the storyline, they love the convenience of digital investments, not willing to buy analog/cumbersome gold) Who runs/pumps more capital into the next crisis "play" and... Does a smaller amount (from under 40) into BTC move price more ...which... begets more buyers? over 40? under 40? IMO: Gold 3-5x possible BTC 10x+ ...with a 5% chance of 0. Take your asymmetrical bets, folks.
    • JM
      John M.
      31 December 2019 @ 17:37
      How did you arrive at the 5%?
  • AH
    Abdol H.
    31 December 2019 @ 16:45
    Verification, security, borders to borders transaction.
  • ml
    miguel l.
    30 December 2019 @ 21:27
    They cant stop talking about Cryptocurrency. Its here to stay Bitcoin may be the first gen of its currency type
  • WM
    Will M.
    30 December 2019 @ 15:48
    Bottom line is that cryptocurrency is new, untested, increasingly being monitored by government, and indeed is a threat to central management of transactions. Younger RV views simply do not accept that government can and will do what they want in the next crisis. Bitcoin is a ultra modern concept and potentially a fantastic speculative investment. Gold is time proven historical store of monetary wealth. Own gold gold for safety and some Bitcoin for the good chance of huge speculative gains......on which you had better be reporting profits and paying taxes or else the authorities will do to you what the IRS did to Swiss banking secret account holders......
  • TB
    Troy B.
    27 December 2019 @ 06:54
    What are we paying for. Honest question??
    • MK
      Michael K.
      27 December 2019 @ 11:19
      Realvision is shockingly cheap. You can’t have 100-% on content that is ideally situated to YOU the previous individual. You must be a new subscriber. Go through the years of incredible differentiated and at times timeless content. These guys are killing it. Keep on keeping on RV.
    • TB
      Troy B.
      27 December 2019 @ 12:14
      I never said i want content specifically aimed at ME, just content that's current that's not over a month old, or not recycled mash ups, this whole week was a farce. You can get the same guests who are on real vision talking about the same topics for free from contributors on Youtube, so ill ask again what are we paying for? I'm not trying to be difficult, the production value of real vision is great but if you aren't going to be competitive with release times or the quantity of content then it makes sense to question it.
    • Ja
      James a.
      27 December 2019 @ 14:07
      The production quality and audio looks quite good compared to the free stuff.
    • M.
      Milton .. | Founder
      27 December 2019 @ 14:43
      Troy, Christmas is traditionally a period dedicated to friends, family and generally a period dedicated towards recharging batteries. Other than this, we very rarely take breaks. So videos this week will be recaps or forward looking ones.
    • JE
      Jonathan E.
      27 December 2019 @ 17:06
      You are paying for entertainment with a little information thrown in. If you don't know this, then I would suggest that you take a very long course of study. (I'd recommend Philosophy, History, Latin, & Economics).
    • TM
      The-First-James M.
      27 December 2019 @ 22:24
      Jonathan E. Personally I find Realvision to be a firehose of useful information, so whilst I respect your study recommendations, I can't agree with your premise, re. entertainment. I certainly don't come here for that; even though I may sometimes find it from the guests with a well developed sense of humour or irony (or both).
    • SC
      Sam C.
      30 December 2019 @ 10:59
      There Is Value in Synthesis. So this week Troy you get Synthesis of the whole 2019. Useful information for the next couple of months.
  • CT
    Crispim T.
    29 December 2019 @ 20:45
    Bitcoin is up +90% year to date. Gold is 14%. BTC was also the best asset of the decade beating pretty much everything. My choice on where to invest to store value in 2020 is super easy. Not getting more gold, but I'm definitely increasing my BTC reserves.
  • AK
    Ado K.
    27 December 2019 @ 20:14
    Loved the gold vs Bitcoin week, it brought out a lot of emotion. I hope with time that a lot of people will perhaps be more open to the concept of Bitcoin, I genuinely think Bitcoin can become crucial in maintaining individualism and core property rights in an age of digital mass surveillance. I also believe it is the most anti fragile asset humanity has ever seen. Therefore I try to buy it, but I also own gold. No matter if you are a gold first or Bitcoin first kind of person it might be worth to hold both. This sense it is first in my humble opinion when you own both that you can truly compare advantages and disadvantages in ownership/storage/divisibility/fungability etc. Thanks for this recap RV, it brought back memories of a really really interesting and fun week.
    • TM
      The-First-James M.
      27 December 2019 @ 22:16
      Good to see somebody talking sense on this subject. The Gold vs Bitcoin debate is so pointless. If you understand the reasons to hold one of these assets, then you should be able to get your head around the other. It then becomes a question of position sizing to manage the volatility relative to your risk tolerance.
    • UJ
      Ulf J.
      29 December 2019 @ 15:05
      I own silver and cryptos, I like when I can watch all markets you need to understand everything that's happening around us great content Real Vision.
  • TB
    Troy B.
    27 December 2019 @ 23:21
    I understand its the holiday period, that's fine hence the stocking filler week but if you're putting out canned interviews from weeks if not month's ago it shouldn't matter. We were all told recently RV has roughly triple the subscribers in the last 12 months but the last 6 months has been very hit and miss, some days you'll get a 9 minute video about some obscure topic and its like 'there watch that' You can listen to one and half hour long in depth discussion about the repo issues at the fed from the same guests here on RV that was recorded hours before i watch it, for free, it may not be glossy and filmed in a studio but the content is exactly the same. I'm not expecting free content from RV just current and more quantity. Here's a bad analogy I go to get a "gourmet" burger out at a restaurant, i pay for the meal, then when it come to the table the burger is two thirds eaten and the fries are cold and stale, so i put my hand up to say something and its basically shut up and eat it and don't complain. But i paid good money? That's what some weeks feel like, meanwhile you can get ten times the amount content from elsewhere for no cost. I'm a supporter of what real vision is doing but it's hard to want to resubscribe when the content quantity/time of delivery falls short of the price.
    • DH
      Daniel H.
      28 December 2019 @ 00:05
      I agree with your complaint. Also, I signed up for a global macro service, and this year has been one third or more crypto currency and spoon feeding the millennials. I want to tell RV TV to just grow up and get on with the global macro service.
    • TM
      The-First-James M.
      28 December 2019 @ 08:29
      I must be subscribed to a different RV Service than you guys...
    • M.
      Milton .. | Founder
      28 December 2019 @ 09:28
      We understood that more and more people come here for the daily information so we try to include timely discussions that are filmed, produced and released within days of their recording. At the same time, we feature long form interviews and these have always been featured a story line that ages well. You can watch interviews from 2015 and the wisdom from them doesn't expire. That's why some interviews are filmed a month ahead. And I would honestly never ever compare podcasts or other forms of information to what we do here. Realistically speaking content is king but it's not everything. It's how you film or record it, it's how you edit a film, it's also about the level of quality and it also comes down to scheduling content and making sure the interviews are spread out. Worth mentioning that we experiment a lot because it's the only way to learn and improve. That's why you see thematic weeks or videos about obscure topics. Nonetheless, we all learn to live with the small things that bother us if the goods outweigh the bad. If one extremely good long form interviews outweigh 10 videos then we did a good job overall. There's a lot to learn in 2020 and we care about what you're saying. That's why we have these honest discussions.
    • TB
      Troy B.
      29 December 2019 @ 06:11
      Thats exactly what i'm saying, i am comparing some podcasts to RV as far as quality of information, same guests, nothing has changed, just the lack of a out of focus background. I guess we'll just keep getting our drip fed content at an average of 1.2 videos per weekday and a total of 23 minutes per day. Then go for a wonder over to every other streaming platform and scroll through hours of content that was just dropped in the last 24 hrs, for a grand total of $0.00
  • RC
    Rob C.
    28 December 2019 @ 03:07
    I love the fundamental principles underlying both assets and so consequently I own them both. Bitcoin is still more a novelty to me and it is much more difficult to procure and own than is gold, but the promise inherent in that white paper was worth the candle to me. Even if bitcoin goes to zero I won't lament having purchased it, but I will mourn the loss in potential and hope for the democratization of money.
    • AK
      Antti K.
      28 December 2019 @ 16:20
      I just can't see it going to zero. It's clear that something like Bitcoin is absolutely needed in our digital age. Still love gold, but it needs a trustless digital companion.
  • tc
    thomas c.
    27 December 2019 @ 15:38
    I think this article sums up bitcoin better than all the RV talk trying to explain it, justify it, value it, dress it up and sell it. Can you image a $2B scam in gold? Maybe some suckers get a few tons of tungsten and players in the London financial casinos get burned but this is ridiculous. It's still the wild frontier of investing. Buyer beware. Doubly so with chinese in the game. https://www.zerohedge.com/crypto/2-billion-plustoken-scam-driving-down-price-bitcoin
    • AK
      Ado K.
      27 December 2019 @ 20:03
      Yes you are correct Bitcoin does not render away the aspect of scam, therefore it is completely useless. I will protect all of you by buying all the Bitcoin so that you accidentally do not fall pray to any of it.
    • TM
      The-First-James M.
      27 December 2019 @ 22:20
      Adko K. LOL - Brilliant. 😉 tc. Listen to decent podcasts such as the following, and you'll soon figure out who the subject matter experts are who can help you avoid the scams if you read and/or follow their work: https://www.stitcher.com/s?eid=65299719&refid=asa
  • HK
    H K.
    27 December 2019 @ 10:54
    no new stuff till new year?!